2017 CSHP Special and General Award Recipients

By: Chris Doody

Each year, the following awards are presented to CSHP members in recognition of their professional dedication. Congratulations to this year’s winners!


2017 Special Award Recipients

Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award, sponsored by Fresenius Kabi Canada Ltd. Nadine Grimm (Halifax, NS)


Hospital Pharmacy Student Award, co-sponsored by the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) and the Canadian Association of Pharmacy Students and Interns (CAPSI) Erin Alexandria Cicinelli (Bolton, ON)


Distinguished Service Award and the New Hospital Pharmacy Practitioner Award were not awarded in 2017 


2017 General Award Recipients

Management and Leadership Best Practice Award Sponsored by Apotex Inc. Assessment of the Impact of Pharmacy Learners on Essential Patient Care Processes (Completed at University Health Network, Toronto, ON) Matthew Chow, Philip Lui, Karen Cameron, Sean K Gorman, Laura Murphy, Jennifer Harrison, Andrea Cameron, Kent Toombs, Andrea Meade, Amita Woods, Lalitha Raman-Wilms, Richard S Slavik, Sean Spina, and Olavo Fernandes


Sponsored by Medbuy Corporation Pharmacists’ Perceptions of the Barriers and Facilitators to the Implementation of Clinical Pharmacy Key Performance Indicators (Completed at Nova Scotia Health Authority, Halifax, NS) Laura Vivian Minard, Kent Toombs, Heather Neville, and Andrea Meade


New Technology Award Sponsored by Mylan Pharmaceuticals ULC. Comparison of Information Available in the Medication Profile of an Electronic Health Record and the Inpatient Best Possible Medication History (Completed at CHU Sainte-Justine, Montréal, QC) Denis Lebel, Pascal Bédard, and Jean-François Bussières


Patient Care Enhancement Award Sponsored by Pfizer Canada Inc. Ensuring Appropriate Use of Antipsychotic Medications in Older Patients with Dementia (Completed at Nova Scotia Health Authority, Halifax, NS) Melissa Gehrig and Susan Bowles


Sponsored by Teva Canada Limited Evaluation of a Clostridium difficile Infection Management Policy with Clinical Pharmacy and Medical Microbiology Involvement at a Major Canadian Teaching Hospital (Completed at Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver, BC) Janice K Yeung and Tim T Y Lau


Pharmacotherapy Best Practices Award Sponsored by Pfizer Canada Inc. Development, Evaluation and Validation of a Screening Tool for Late Onset Bacteremia in Neonates (Completed at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto, ON) Melanie Cormier, Sandra A N Walker, Marion Elligsen, and Dolores Iaboni


Sponsored by Sandoz Canada Inc. A Case-Control Study Analyzing Mannitol Dosing for Prevention of Cisplatin-Induced Acute Nephrotoxicity (Completed at University Health Network, Toronto, ON) Patwant Dhillon and Pamela Ng


Safe Medication Practices Award Sponsored by HealthPRO Procurement Services Inc. Reliability of a Best Possible Medication History Completed by Non-Admitted Patients in the Emergency Department (Completed at Moncton Hospital, Moncton, NB) Nicole MacDonald, Leslie Manuel, Haley Brennan, and Richard Wanbon


Sponsored by Medbuy Corporation An Evaluation of Pharmacist Intervention on Discharge Medication Reconciliation (Completed at Surrey Memorial Hospital, Surrey, BC) Suzanne C Malfair, Sukhjinder Sidhu, Caitlin Lang, and Adil Virani


Specialties in Pharmacy Practice Award Sponsored by Pharmascience Inc. Development of a New Web-Based Resource for Managing HIV and Hepatitis C Drug Therapy/Drug Interactions (Completed at University Health Network, Alberta Health Services, and The Ottawa Hospital) Alice Tseng, Michelle Foisy, and Pierre Giguère


Sponsored by Sandoz Canada Inc. Creation of a Natural Health Products Database for Assessing Safety in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease or Renal Transplant (Completed at St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver, BC) Marianna Leung 


Teaching, Learning and Education Award Sponsored by Eli Lilly Canada Inc. Medication Errors Room: A Simulation to Assess the Medical, Nursing and Pharmacy Staffs’ Ability to Identify Errors Related to the Medication-Use System (Completed at CHU Sainte-Justine, Montréal, QC ) Denis Lebel, Pascal Bédard, and Jean-François Bussières


Award winning abstracts will be published in the Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy (CJHP), Vol. 70, No. 1 January-February 2017.


Award Program Sponsors

With Thanks!