Announcing CSHP's New National Awards Program / 2019—2020 Nominations Now Open

Awards Resized 2

New National Awards Program for CSHP Reaches Further to Acknowledge Excellence

The Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) is pleased to announce exciting changes to its National Awards Program. The move to update the awards program brings increased viability, award prestige, and alignment with CSHP’s mission and values.  

The 20192020 CSHP National Awards Program launches August 8, 2019 with a new format and categories. Nominations will be accepted until September 30, 2019 for the following:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Excellence in Pharmacy Practice – Interprofessional Collaboration
  • Excellence in Pharmacy Practice – Leadership
  • Excellence in Pharmacy Practice – Patient Care

The impetus to update the national awards program came from months of collaboration between the Board and the National Awards Committee. “I commend the National Awards Committee for its fresh ideas and commitment to this process of change,” said Sean Spina, Chair of the National Awards Committee. “We are excited for the future of the National Awards Program.” 

“The shared goal of updating the program to meet the needs of all CSHP members was always top-of-mind,” said Jody Ciufo, CSHP Chief Executive Officer.  “Not only are the new offerings reflective of the Society’s values, but for the first time, we are opening up the National Awards Program to Individual Supporters as well. We want to recognize the contributions of all members of the healthcare team, including pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, student pharmacists, and others.”

Mark your calendars for the 51st Professional Practice Conference from February 14, 2020, where the National Awards Committee will debut a new-look-and-feel for the awards ceremony. Kick-off your event experience in high style, by joining us on Saturday, February 1, 2020. The ceremony promises to be an evening of fun, networking, and celebration. Join us as we pay tribute to the outstanding work of our members!     

Branch-Level Awards Offer Continuity

Although a number of national awards have been retired, including the Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award, in many cases, equivalent awards are being offered by certain CSHP branches.

The branches may also introduce any newly-retired national awards into their own programs. Check back with your branch for more details.

Call for Awards: 2019-2020 CSHP National Awards Program Nominations is Now Open!

CSHP’s National Awards Program promotes excellence in the practice of pharmacy throughout hospitals and other collaborative healthcare settings. Awards are presented annually to Members and Individual Supporters who have made a significant contribution to the improvement of pharmacy services through innovations and developments in the field, original research, scholarly papers or publications. You can nominate an individual or team for an award. Award recipients will be announced in January via website, email, and social media. An awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, February 1, 2020, at the Professional Practice Conference. Nominations are due by September 30, 2019. Learn more about the awards program here.

The Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) is Canada’s national organization of pharmacists committed to patient care through the advancement of safe, effective medication use in hospitals and other collaborative healthcare settings. CSHP represents the interests of its members through education, advocacy, information sharing, promotion of best practices, and facilitation of research. By listening to the experiences and expectations of patients and the pharmacists and pharmacy technicians who care for them, CSHP develops and provides the support, tools, and resources needed to improve healthcare in Canada.

For more information or to sponsor an award please contact:
Robyn Rockwell
Membership and Awards Administrator
Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists
(877) 340-2756 ext. 222
(613) 909-9964