Announcing the new CSHP Manitoba Branch Lois Cantin Award for Excellence in Rural Practice

Sponsored by Fresenius Kabi Canada Ltd.

In honour of a devoted hospital pharmacy leader, CSHP Manitoba Branch announces the creation of the Lois Cantin Award for Excellence in Rural Practice. Described as a fierce protector of the public interest, Lois worked across Manitoba well beyond the urban centres and into the far reaches of the province.

This award recognizes a candidate who has made a demonstrated impact on the safety and quality of pharmacy services provided in a geographically isolated or rural practice setting.

Application Deadline: December 1st annually

Award Description:

  • The award consists of a cheque in the amount of $1000, a trophy, and a framed certificate.
  • The award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting of the Branch on an annual basis.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The applicant must be a CSHP Manitoba Branch member in good standing for a minimum of two years including the year of application.
  • The applicant must have made a demonstrated impact on the safety and quality of pharmacy services provided in a geographically isolated or rural practice setting.
  • The applicant shall not have won this award in the past two years.

Submission Requirements:

  1. One electronic copy of the applicant’s curriculum vitae or resume.
  2. One brief report (maximum 1000 words) describing the hospital's setting, the nominee's role, and the professional contributions they have made that led to the improvement of drug therapy, clinical services and/or patient safety
  3. The report may include mention of:
  • Clinical services that are being provided;
  • Models of drug distribution, pharmacy management, or community engagement that were applied; or
  • Personal and professional skills that were utilized in providing patient care or pharmacy leadership.
  • More details may be requested by the Awards Committee as necessary

For more information, please contact Olena Serwylo, Chair, CSHP Manitoba Branch Awards Committee.

About Lois Cantin

Lois Cantin (1951-2019) was a well-known pharmacist and pharmacy manager in Manitoba. She worked in retail pharmacy for several years before launching into a hospital pharmacy career as Pharmacy Director at Portage General Hospital. Lois worked in Winnipeg, Flin Flon, Churchill, and several other northern communities. She served terms as President of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists–Manitoba Branch, the Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association (now the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba) and the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities.

Her firm belief, and the commitment of Council to protect the public, resulted in the College  (formerly the Manitoba Pharmaceutical Association) receiving the 2004 Fred T. Mahaffey award at the 100th Anniversary Annual General Meeting of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) in the United States. The College was the first and only Canadian organization to be honored with this award which recognizes exemplary work in the protection of public health and welfare through the enforcement of state and federal laws. It was as a result of Council’s actions taken under Lois’ steadfast leadership, to preserve public protection on both sides of the border that resulted in the College receiving this very prestigious recognition.1

Lois made significant contributions to the pharmacy profession and was an inspiration to many. You can read more about Lois’ extraordinary work in the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba feature on her in their Winter 2019 Newsletter.

  1. Remembering Lois Cantin (1951-2019). College of Pharmacists of Manitoba Newsletter. Winter 2019 (Page 6). [cited May 26]. Available from: