About Us

In 1940, the Nova Scotia Unit of Hospital Pharmacists was founded.  This unit developed bylaws and a constitution in 1941 and was a key player in the founding of what became known as the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) in 1947.
By 1949 several branches of CSHP had been established including Ontario, British Columbia and the Maritime branch.  In 1967, New Brunswick was established as a branch and shortly thereafter in 1970 the Maritime branch became the NS Branch of CSHP.

Click here to read a summary of Sylvia Bell’s history of the branch, and Dr. Gordon Duff’s slides.

Today, our branch represents CSHP members from all areas of the province who work in a variety of settings including hospitals, academia, government, and industry.  The branch attracts many student members because we are the home province to the College of Pharmacy for the Maritime provinces and to a residency program (based out of Capital Health, QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax).  We have approximately 120 pharmacist members and 20 student/resident members.

In addition to the numerous benefits of being a member of CSHP such as national educational conferences, a hospital pharmacy journal (Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy) and pharmacy specialty networks (PSNs); the NS Branch offers local educational events and networking opportunities, an active awards program, and acts as a voice representing local hospital pharmacy practice.

The branch functions with an Executive Committee who make decisions regarding branch operation.  This includes development of terms of reference for various committees and appointments, delegation of branch funds and representation for/with external associations such as the Nova Scotia College of Pharmacists (NSCP) and the Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia (PANS).  The Executive also functions as the communication stream from CSHP National through the delegate who is a member of National Council.  All executive members communicate to branch members through general meetings and the branch website.  The Executive Committee is comprised of the president, president-elect, past-president, treasurer, secretary, delegate, NSCP rep, PANS rep, and a student representative.

Various committees also function within the branch and these currently include:
Awards, Education, Student Relations, and Membership.  We have appointed positions of website coordinator and corporate fundraiser.